## RECIPROCAL BUSINESS LICENCING MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING

**WHEREAS** the municipalities listed in Schedule A. recognize the importance of entrepreneurship and small businesses to their Communities;

**WHEREAS** these municipalities are committed to working together to foster entrepreneurship, promote small business and attract potential investment to their communities;

**WHEREAS** these municipalities understand the potential of home and community based businesses, electronic commerce, and the quality of life associated with smaller communities;

## BE IT RESOLVED THAT the undersigned, on behalf of their communities;

- 1. Recognize and accept the validity of qualified reciprocal business licences issued by the aforementioned participating municipalities.
- 2. Will allow businesses that possess a qualified business licence from one of the aforementioned participating municipalities to conduct commercial enterprise in their municipality as per the following guidelines;
  - i. Home occupation and Commercial businesses with their home base in one of the participating municipalities listed in Schedule A. shall qualify for a reciprocal business licence.
  - ii. This agreement covers the offering of services only, and does not extend to the opening of new storefronts in the aforementioned participating municipalities.
  - iii. Reciprocal licencing will not apply to "Out of Town" businesses holding a licence in one of the participating municipalities listed in Schedule A.
  - iv. All participating municipalities will clearly mark on their qualifying business licence forms the word "reciprocal".
- 3. All participating municipalities shall retain the right to refuse any qualified reciprocal business licence issued by one of the other participating municipalities.

## TERM

4. A participating municipality may serve notice to all other members by the 30<sup>th</sup> day of September of the current year that they intend to leave this Memorandum of Understanding on the 1<sup>st</sup> day of January of the following year.

This Memorandum of Understanding is effective the 30<sup>th</sup> day of April 2023.

Signed this 30<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2023.

## SCHEDULE A PARTICIPATING MUNICIPALITIES

TOWN OF COALHURST Lyndsay Montina (May 26, 2023 11:40 EDT) Mayor Byrne Cook (May 26, 2023 12:22 MDT) TOWN OF MAGRATH Mayor Joan Boeder TOWN OF NOBLEFORD Mayor TOWN OF PICTURE BUTTE Mayor <u>Jim Depew</u> ym Depew (May 26, 2023 10:18 MDT) TOWN OF RAYMOND <u>Daniel Doell</u> Daniel Doell (May 10, 2023 14:58 MDT) **VILLAGE OF BARONS** Mayor Trevor Lewington
Trevor Lewington (May 10, 2023 14:12 MDT) VILLAGE OF STIRLING Mayor